Catching up with Top Returners: Michael Mangus

-Athlete Name:  Michael Mangus

-School: Fairfield-Leesburg Local HS

-Year of Graduation: 2014

-Best time in a 5K race and in which meet: 15:56 at the Unioto Invitational.

-Tell us how your summer training is going?:

Very well.  I am running more than I have in any previous summer.

-What are your goals for the upcoming season?:

My goals for this season are to place in the top five in the State Meet and place first in both the Regional and District meets.

-How long have you been running and how did you get started?:

I have been running consistently for six years and got started by running local road races.

-Will you be competing anywhere out of state this season?:

My plans do not currently include racing out of state this season.

-What is your favorite course to run in Ohio?:

My favorite course to run is at Ripley High School.  I enjoy this course so much because it is very scenic.  A large portion of the race is set on the banks of the Ohio River.  The course is also demanding with two very large hills, one of which is in the last half mile of the race.

-What is the toughest course to run in Ohio?:

The toughest course I have encountered is at the Mason Invitational.  The majority of the race is run on mulch paths which do not offer good footing and the creek crossing and mulch hill add an extra degree of difficulty.  Last year, large amounts of rainfall caused the course to be even tougher.

-What meet during the regular season do you put extra emphasize on to compete well at?:

The meet I put the most emphasis on during the regular season is the Pickerington Classic.  I emphasize this race more than other races because it is where my Regional Meet is run.

-What is your favorite cross country race so far in your high school career?:

My favorite race is last year's State Meet.  It is my favorite race because I not only accomplished my goal of being All-Ohio, but I also finished slightly higher than I expected.

-Favorite cross country memory?

Sitting on the podium at the State Meet last year.

-When you are not running what is your favorite thing to do?:

Relaxing at home with my family

-Favorite quote?:

"If you quit in practice, you will quit in a race"--unknown

-What shoes do you train in?:

I have always trained in Asics shoes. I am currently training in the Kayano 19s.

-What shoes do you race in?:

I race in both Saucony and Nike shoes.

-What's on your Ipod when you go out for runs?:

I do not listen to music when I run.

-What professional athlete would you most like to meet?:

I would like to meet Peyton Manning because I admire his tenacity, hard work, dedication and competativeness. I also admire his ability to win without drawing undue attention to himself or his teammates.

-What is something that most people don't know about you?:

Most people do not know that I took gymnastics classes when I was young.  When I was only three, I was able to hold a handstand for long periods of time.