9th Annual Strongsville SECOND SOLE Cross Country Invitational Preview

The 9th annual Strongsville Second Sole Cross Country Invitational will take place at Strongsville High School this Saturday, September 20. This meet has garnered a reputation as one of the finest and most competitive invitationals in all of Ohio.

The boys race highlights this years meet as 21 teams will attempt to dethrone defending champion Lakewood.

The latest OATCCC Coaches Poll (September 10th) shows eight of Ohio's top 20 teams will be running. Those eight teams include 2nd ranked Mentor, 6th ranked St. Ignatius, 9th ranked Reynoldsburg, 10th ranked Cincinnati St. Xavier, 11th ranked Solon, 15th ranked Twinsburg and 18th ranked Massillon Perry.

Individually, the race will feature some of Ohio's finest runners including a number of All- Ohioans. Twinsburg's Stuart Edmonds (sr), Solon's Jeremy Schiele (sr), Mentor's Stephen Schulz (sr), Sean Naderer of Eastlake North (sr), and Colby Alexander of host Strongsville (jr) head a list of elite runners vying for the individual crown. Last year's champ Makorobondo Salukombo of Lakewood has graduated.

The girls race features 19 teams, led by the OATCCC Coaches Poll Division  5th ranked Medina team, 14th ranked Brunswick and 17th ranked Solon. Rocky River, ranked 10th in Division 2 will also look to be competitive.

Individually, underclassmen look to impress with freshmen Katy Link of Avon Lake, Anna Boyert of Medina and Selena Pasadyn of Brunswick leading the way. Rocky River junior Brittney Towner and Perry's Abbie Clifford will also be in the mix. Defending champion, Solon's Hannah Ringo, has graduated. Solon is also the defending girls champion.