Records Fall At Indoor State Championship

           Abby Steiner / Dublin Coffman 

Steiner won the D1 60m race with her record setting time of 7.36.  The Dublin Coffman senior's result overtakes the previous best time at the SPIRE Institute, which had belonged to Rush Henrietta Sperry's Lanae-Tava Thomas from the 2018 Showcase (7.39).  Steiner's result is also an all-time state record (breaking the 7.38 mark that she already owned) and a US No. 3 for the 2018 season. 

           Chad Johnson / Colonel Crawford 

Johnson took the win in the D2 / D3 1600m race with his 4:10.89 effort.  His result eclipsed Gavin Gaynor's facility best time of 4:14.01 which was set in 2016 while he was representing Hudson.  

           Dustin Horter / Lakota East 

A few hours following the aforementioned Chad Johnson result was in the books, Lakota East's Dustin Horter lowered the 1600m record.  Horter cruised in with an exceptional time of 4:07.52 to secure the D1 State Championship win.  His result represents a new all-time state record (overtaking Gavin Gaynor and Lancaster's Brannon Kidder) and a US No. 1 for the 2018 season. 

The Lakota East senior spoke with MileSplit Ohio following his race: 

Page 1                    Page 3