ASICS Hot Summer Bash Preview

Hilliard Davidson and Hilliard Bradley have teamed up with ASICS to host the Hot Summer Bash at Hilliard Bradley High School on September 4, 2010. The boy’s race, features two-time Ohio State Champion Zach Will of Mason and Jake Wildemann of Louisville Trinity, KY.  Wildemann is last years Kentucky’s State runner up.  The race should also be one of the early seasons best team competitions featuring the OATCCC Preseason Cross Country Polls #1 ranked team, Medina, as well as, Toledo St. Johns (5th), Cincinnati St. Xavior (6th), Mason (8th) and Reynoldsburg (9th). 


The girl’s race is being held for the 1st time and features the Preseason Poll #2 ranked Mason, as well as ranked teams from Sylvania Northview (7th), Medina (12th) and Hilliard Davidson (21st). Also in attendance is the Division III 9th ranked team, Galion Northmor.



Boys Competition:


1. Medina - Medina is ranked #1 in the OATCCC Preseason Cross Country Poll.   They are led by David Knack who placed 119th in the State last year, but had a strong track season, placing 5th in the 3200.g. Other State returners are Seniors, Kevin Paradise, 49th and Brent Gaither, 102nd. Junior Brad Palocko, 129th and Sophomore Tommy Menyes, 85th.

2. Cincinnati St. Xavier - St. Xavier was State runner Up last year and is 6th in the Preseason Poll.  The team is led by led by All-Ohio runner; Senior Jack Butler who ran 24thg is last Years State competition.


3. Mason - Mason was 4th in last years State met and returns a very solid team led by Ohio's premier runner, Zach Wills. They are ranked 8th in the Preseason Poll.  Seniors Matt Kincaid 87th and Tate Honaker, 146th, provide support for Wills.


4. Louisville Trinity (KY.) - Trinity was Kentucky’s 3rd place team in 2009, and is led by the state's top returning runner, Jake Wildenmann. Wildenmann last years state runner-up and has posted a 4:16 in the 1600.


5. Toledo Central Catholic - Central Catholic was the 9th place team in Ohio last year.  They are ranked 16th in the Preseason Poll and are led by Seniors Andy Dimick, 59th, Connor Bucholz, 78th and Cameron Grieseldin, 114th. 

6. Reynoldsburg - Reynoldsburg was 14th at last year's state meet and ranked 9th in this years Preseason Poll. The team returns Seniors Tsehaye Hiluf, 101st and Hiruy Abraha, 104th and Junior Khalid Omar, 103rd.


7. Toledo St. John's - St. John’s is ranked 5th in the Preseason Poll. The team is led by All-Ohio runner, Senior, Greg Turissini 19th.


8. Centerville - The team is ranked 19th in the Preseason Poll and is led by Colin Wurster and Dominic Fish.

9. Hilliard Bradley - is much improved after the school's first year (2009). Austin Alpeter and Troy Kelleher will lead this young but maturing group.

10. Hilliard Davidson - Davidson is ranked 15th in the Preseason Poll. Jack Shaeffer is the teams’ number one runner.



Girls Competition:


1. Sylvania Northview - Northview is the #7 team in the Girl’s Preseason Poll.  They were last year’s 6th Place State team. The team is led by Sophomores Abby Masters, 28th in the State last year and Janelle Noe, 108th.  Juniors Maureen Dean, 114th and Alison Work, 95th and Senior, Mackenzie Reeves, 96th.


2. Mason - Mason was last years 8th place team and is ranked 2nd in the preseason Poll.  The team is led by Seniors Jessica Harrison, 31st in the State and Brenna Hallum 85th.  Juniors Monica Lake, 36th, Mackenzie Jensen, 86th and Bridget McElhenny, 94th and Sophomore Tori martin, 89th. 


3. Medina - Medina is ranked 12th in the Preseason Poll and is led by Junior Anna Boyert who placed 28th in last years state competition.  She was 2nd in the 1600 last Spring in 4:54.


4. Galion Northmor - The 9th place Div. III team in 2009 returns a solid group led by Danielle Blum.


5. Hilliard Davidson - Davison is ranked 21st in the State Preseason poll.  They are led by Senior Jessica Hoover who placed 38th last year.

6. Hilliard Bradley - Led by Lauren McCabe, Bradley is an improving squad.

7. Toledo Central Catholic - TCC will be led by three pack runners: Samantha Fisher, Francie McCartney, and Kiley Stevenson.


8. Reynoldsburg - Reynoldsburg leading runner is Kyrsty Rider.


9. Cincinnati Sycamore - Sycamore is coached by Steve Nester, who is back from Xavier University.  Nestor was the girls coach at Turpin when they won a state title in 2001 and were runners up in 2002 to Hilliard Davidson.



Meet Schedule:

10:00 a.m. 9/10 Girls Race

10:30 9/10 Boys Race

11:00 Varsity Girls Race (may run 9)

11:30 Varsity Boys Race (may run 9)

12:00 p.m. Girls Open Race

12:30 Boys Open Race