28th Mid-East Cross Country Championships - A Look At our Ohio Teams

A close look at our Ohio Boys and Girls team rosters for the 28th Mid-East Cross Country Championships at Kettering Indian Riffle Park in Kettering, Ohio. The meet features Senior only teams from Illinois, Indiana, Michigan and Ohio.  The meet is sponsored by the Greater Dayton Track and Cross Country Officials Association and the Ohio Association of Track and Cross Country Coaches.  It has been run annualy since 1987. The Ohio teams include some outstanding Seniors and feature a girl's team with three State champions.

The 2014 Girl's team is strong.  It is led by D3 runners Sarah Kanney of Coldwater (18:00.11) and Brittany Atkinson  of Liberty Center (18:05.54).  Attkinson is the the #2 ranked girl in Ohio.  Kanney is the #4 ranked.  The #3, 4 and 5 girls, based upon times run in their respective meets at State this year, are D1 runners Emily Stoodley (Oh #9) of Worthington Kilborne with a 18:22.37, Alexis Szivan of Amherst Steele (18:30.48) and Claire Wiles of Olentangy Liberty (Oh #15)with a 18:32.73.   The # 6 and 7 girls would be D1 runner Olivia Chin of Ravenna with a 18:34.33 and D2 runner Taylor Vernot of Wauseon with a 18:37.85.  Based upon times run this year at National Trails, the girl's 1-5 runners split is 32 seconds.  The top 7 split, 37 seconds.
Sarah Kanney of Coldwater and Brittany Atkinson of Liberty Center ran one-two in the D3 Girls State Championship and will lead a very strong girls team.  Kanney won for the 2nd time this year, defeating Atkinson who was the state champion as a freshman in 2011 and again as a junior in 2013.  Kanney won in 2012.  The girls are ranked 2nd and 4th  by time in the State.  Atkinson is 2nd with a 17:34.10.  Kanney is 4th with a 17:55.96.
Taylor Vernot of Wauseon was the defending D2 State Champion (2013).  She was 3rd this year and has a PR of 18:04.40.  
Sammy Bockoven of CVCA was 5th this year in the girls D2 race, just 7 seconds back of Vernot.
She was 1st in her District and Regional meets and has run 18:28.
Worthington Kilbourne's Emily Stoodley  (left) was 5th in this years D1 State Championships with a 18:22.  She has a PR of 18:10.31.  
Clair Wiles of Olentangy Liberty  (right) was 9th in this years D1 Championship with an 18:32.73.   She has a PR of 18:16.24.
Abbie VanFossen of Lakota East was 15th in the D1 Sate Meet.   She has run a PR of 18:17.12.
 Fallon Doyle of St. John Central was 4th in this years D3 girls race.  She has a PR of 18:22.18..
Amherst Steel's Alexis Szivan was 7th in the D1 State Meet this year runnng a PR of 18:30.48.  
Grace Kelly of Urusline Academy placed 26th in the D1 Girls race this year.  She has a PR of 18:32.03.
Olivia Chinn of Ravenna was 12th in this years D1 race with her PR of 18:34.33.  
Alexander's Allyson Malone  was 17th in the D2 race at State this year.  She has a PR of 18:35.30.
Five top 20 ranked boys lead the Ohio Team.  3 D1 runners and one each D2 and D3 runners.  Ohio #10,  George McCartney (15:28.84) of Toledo Central Catholic (D1) leads the boys group which has a 1-5 split, based upon PR's, of 11.16 seconds and 31 seconds based upon their times at National Trails this year. The #2 runner on the team is Thomas Worthington's (D1) Jonathan Kissel (Oh#14) with a 15:34.00.  Just behind Kissel is Wauseon's (D2) Qintin Reiser (Oh#15) with a 15:34.94.  The #4 runner is  D3's Mason Moore (Oh #18) of Summit Country Day.  Moore has run 15:39.13.  Based upon PR times, Northmont's JT Mackay (Oh#19) would be the #5 runner with a 15:40.00.  Mineral Ridge's (D3) Logan Smith, the #2 runner in the D3 race this year has the 6th fastest PR of 15:43.50.  The # 7 runner by time is another D1 runner, Kevin White of Wooster (15:45.00).
George McCartney of Toledo Central Catholic was 7th in this years D1 State championships with a 15:47.65.  He has a PR of 15:28.84.
Jonathan Kissel (in the red & white) of Thomas Worthington was 9th in the D1 boys race this year. with a 15:49.59.  He has a PR of 15:34.00.
Wauseon's Quintin Reiser was 4th in the D2 race this year with a 16:03.14.  He has a PR of 15:34.94.
Zack Zimmerman of Pickerington North was 12 in the D1 race with a 15:51.69.  His PR is 15:37.75.  
Mason Moore of Summit Country Day was 6th in the D3 race this year (16:18) but has a PR of 15:39.13. Moore is the #1 ranked D3 runner in the State.
Northmont's JT Mackay placed 11th in the D1 State meet with a 15:50.80.  His PR is 15:43.00.  
Logan Smith of Mineral Ridge was 2nd in the D3 State meet with a 15:58.15.  He has a PR of 15:43.
Kevin White of Wooster was 18th in the D1 race with a 15:57.02.  He has a PR of 15:45.7.
Hilliard Darby's Chase Hampton was 31st in the D1 race and has a PR of 15:48.00.
Brandon Avers of Ostego was 12th  in the D2 race with a 16:16.64 and has a PR of 15:50.50.
Nicolas Jarrell of St. John's Jesuit ran 27th in the D1 race and has a PR of 15:57.00.
Tippecanoe's Danel Frame was 18th  in the D2 boys race and has a PR of 15:59.00.