New Change to the OATCCC State Indoor Meet

The 2008 OATCCC Indoor Track and Field Championships will be held on March 15 at the University of Akron. New to 2008 the girls and boys weight throw are being added to the event list. This a great boost to Ohio High School Track by adding an event that could ultimately help Ohio High School athletes be recruited.

Five of the seven Ohioans to make Bob Gourley's National Weight and Hammer list ( have graduated, which makes who will be the first Boy's Ohio State Champion in the Weight Throw a hard question to answer.  The two returnees from the list in Ohio are Anthony Scholes (52'8") from Centerville and Curt Smith (46'8") from Paint Valley.

On the girls side, Ohio had quite an impact on the National list, with seventeen girls making the cut.  While nine have graduated, eight will return for atleast one more season to try to claim the first ever Girl's Ohio State Champion in the Weight Throw.  The returners are Erin Pendelton (44'2") of Woodmore, Brianna Strother (41'0.25") of St. Peter Chanel, Emily Niehaus (40'4.5") of Kings, Kaitlyn Griffith (36'1.5") of Orrville, Amy Evans (35'3") of Urbana, Holley Mangold (35'3") of Alter, Diamond Clemons (34'7") of Piqua and Lydsey Crowe (32'11.5") of Wilmington.