OHSAA State Cross Country Champship Recap

Division I

The Medina boys cross country program continued its season of dominance in Ohio as they won the Boys DI Race by a 76-127 margin over Centerville.  The squad placed their top four in the top 15 in the team scoring and averaged a great 16:01 5k time.  Medina's Donny Roys (Jr.) won the individual title in 15:21, outkicking runner-up Dan Thaler (Sr., Cinn. St. Xavier) by one second.

On the girls side, senior Claire Durkin (Sr., Worthington Kilbourne) won the Girls DI Race in 17:10.  Her mark put her 28 seconds ahead of Brooklyne Rider (Jr., Cinn. Oak Hills).  In the team race Brecksville-Broadview Heights used a strong top three to beat runner-up Rocky River Magnificat 115-120 in a close team battle.


Division II

The Woodridge boys cross country team put on a strong performance by placing four runners in the top 20.  Woddridge beat runner up Walsh Jesuit, 82-115.   The individual race was won by Cory Leslie of Sandusky Perkins in a time of 15:33, who was 14 seconds ahead of both Jarrod Eick (15:47.56) of Alliance Marlington and Brian Himelight (15:47.92) of State Champion Woodridge.

On the girls side, Emily Infeld of Beaumont ran away from the field and finished the 5k in a time of 17:30, finishing over 40 seconds ahead of runner-up Chelsea Oswald (18:12) of Walsh Jesuit.  After finishing runner-up for three consecutive years by a combined 22 total points, Kettering Archbishop Alter won the team title, 94-111, over Cuyahoga Valley Christian Academy. 


Division III

The Boys Individual race came down to the twin brothers from Dayton Christian, with both brothers crossing the line in 15:34.  Walter Lutrell passed John Lutrell in the last three steps to become the boys Division III Champion. St. Thomas Aquinas ran away with the team title, beating McDonald by the biggest margin of the day, 54-118.

While the boys Division III team race had the biggest margin of victory, the girls Division III race had the smallest margin of victory, with Versailles beating the girls from Gilmour Academy by 1 point, 119-120. Stephanie Morgan (Jr., Barnsville) won the race in 17:27, gapping the field by over a minute. Freshman Janel Olberding was second in a time of 18:28.


Ohio State CC Champs. Meet Page

Results: Boys DI / Boys DII / Boys DIII / Girls DI / Girls DII / Girls DIII