Lakota West Drops National Leading 4x800m Time

Race Videos From OATCCC D1 State Finale

Claim Your MileSplit Ohio Athlete Profile

The quartet from Lakota West left no doubt who the country's premier 4x800 meter relay squad was due to their work on Saturday at the SPIRE Institute during the OATCCC Division 1 State Finale

The Firebirds went a blistering 7:50.06 to outpace a very game runner-up squad from North Canton-Hoover, who went US No. 4 7:54.92, to secure the title and in doing so they claim the nation's top mark for the 2021 indoor campaign. 

Zach Beneteau, Sergio Negroe, Cole Cronk and Zachary Plotkin represented the West Chester-based roster.

Watch their handiwork above and hear post-race assessments from the foursome below, which includes an unveiling of their goal to take down the reigning OHSAA 4x800m state record during the outdoor season. 

Coverage - 

4x800m Relay

1Lak. West7:50.062
3Hil. Davidson8:01.052
4St. Ignatius8:03.462
5St. Edward8:05.582
7St. Xavier8:06.972

Post-Race Interview